Archive

Archive for April 3, 2009

all things new

 Since this is the season and all, I’ve been thinking a lot about the Ash Wednesday-Good Friday-Easter Sunday tradition a lot.  

 I have to admit that more often than not, it’s all about Good Friday and the Cross for me.  But one thing I’m really realizing this year is that Good Friday without Easter Sunday is like watching a great movie and then shutting it off right before the climax of it hits my eyes; putting the movie away, and saying, “now wasn’t that a great story?!”

 I know many people that give things up for Lent.  This is a good tradition, I think; giving something up to prepare your heart…to remember His sacrifice.  But that’s not the climax of the story.  At the height of the story we have Jesus who is alive, walking out of the tomb.  And in the end he says, “Look, I am making all things new!”  

If Lent and Good Friday are about giving up and sacrifice, being broken and poured out…Easter is about everything being made new and fixed and reconciled and repaired.  

Which got me thinking (with help from NT Wright on this one), if I’m giving something up for Lent, shouldn’t I do something new for Easter?  Something new that’s about the good and about healing?

Suggestions?